How to think about databases

Very interesting read… and complies with my own experiences

Read the Tea Leaves

As a maintainer of PouchDB, I get a lot of questions from developers about how best to work with databases. Since PouchDB is a JavaScript library, and one with fairly approachable documentation (if I do say so myself), many of these folks tend toward the more beginner-ish side of the spectrum. However, even with experienced developers, I find that many of them don’t have a clear picture of how a database should fit into their overall app structure.

The goal of this article is to lay out my perspective on the proper place for a database within your app code. My focus will be on the frontend ? e.g. SQLite in an Android app, CoreData in an iOS app, or IndexedDB in a webapp ? but the discussion could apply equally well to a server-side app using MongoDB, MySQL, etc.

What is a database, anyway?

I have a friend…

View original post 3,445 more words

Leave a Reply

